• Authentically International

    "International" is more than a label here. It is at the very core of everything we do and how we do it.

    nursery students learning languages through song @ British International School Washington

  • Transferable Curriculum

    A curriculum handpicked for its international focus and global recognition, culminating in the IB Program.

    Students at the British International School of Washington

  • Inspiring Each Other

    Our students will embrace your child with open arms. Our students inspire each other to succeed.

    students embracing at the British International School of Washington

  • Dedicated and Inspiring

    Our teachers are recruited for their ability to nurture lifelong learners and inspire excellence.

    Teacher and student at the British International School Washington

  • Your New Community

    We welcome you to our inclusive community. From day one you and your child will feel at home with us.

    excited students at the British International School of Washington

  • Every Day is Different

    Your child will experience something new every day. Find out what's happening and connect with each other.

    students on expedition at the British International School of Washington

  • Ask Anything

    Speaking directly with us is the best way to get your questions answered quickly. We look forward to hearing from you.

    teacher speaking with parents at the British International School of Washington

Term Dates

Our families love the structure of our school calendar, unique in Washington. Our three, long terms – each with a mid-term break – provide more opportunities for off-peak travel, and our shorter summer breaks help students get back to the classroom sooner.

Academic Calendar 2017-2018

Autumn Term (August – December)
Orientation and Personal Success Plan (PSP) Meetings: Monday, August 21, 2017
First Day of Classes: Tuesday, August 22, 2017 (PSP Meetings on August 21)
Labor Day, School Closed: Monday, September 4, 2017
*Primary PSP Review Meetings: Wednesday, October 11, 2017 (normal day for Secondary students)
Autumn Half Term Break, School Closed: Monday, October 16 – Friday, October 20, 2017
Thanksgiving Break, School Closed: Wednesday, November 22 – Friday, November 24, 2017

*Secondary PSP Review Meetings: Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (normal day for Primary students)
Winter Break, School Closed: Friday, December 22, 2017 – Friday, January 5, 2018

Winter Term (January – April)
Spring Term Begins: Monday, January 8, 2018
MLK Jr. Holiday, School Closed: Monday, January 15, 2018         
Spring Half Term Break, School Closed Monday, February 19 – Friday, February 23, 2018

*PSP Review Meetings, All Students: Tuesday, March 13, 2018 (no normal classes)
Spring Break, School Closed: Monday, April 9 – Friday, April 20, 2018

Spring Term (May – June)
Summer Term Begins: Monday, April 23, 2018
Summer Half Term Break, School Closed: Monday, May 28 – Friday, June 1, 2018
Last Day of School: Thursday, June 28, 2018
Summer Vacation, School Closed Starting Friday, June 29, 2018

Downloads

Share this page:

Share