• Authentically International

    "International" is more than a label here. It is at the very core of everything we do and how we do it.

    nursery students learning languages through song @ British International School Washington

  • Transferable Curriculum

    A curriculum handpicked for its international focus and global recognition, culminating in the IB Program.

    Students at the British International School of Washington

  • Inspiring Each Other

    Our students will embrace your child with open arms. Our students inspire each other to succeed.

    students embracing at the British International School of Washington

  • Dedicated and Inspiring

    Our teachers are recruited for their ability to nurture lifelong learners and inspire excellence.

    Teacher and student at the British International School Washington

  • Your New Community

    We welcome you to our inclusive community. From day one you and your child will feel at home with us.

    excited students at the British International School of Washington

  • Every Day is Different

    Your child will experience something new every day. Find out what's happening and connect with each other.

    students on expedition at the British International School of Washington

  • Ask Anything

    Speaking directly with us is the best way to get your questions answered quickly. We look forward to hearing from you.

    teacher speaking with parents at the British International School of Washington

Term Dates

Our families love the structure of our school calendar, unique in Washington. Our three, long terms – each with a mid-term break – provide more opportunities for off-peak travel, and our shorter summer breaks help students get back to the classroom sooner.

Academic Calendar 2016-2017 
 

Autumn Term
          Monday, August 22, 2016 – Orientation and Personal Success Plan (PSP) Meetings
          Tuesday, August 23, 2016 – Orientation and Personal Success Plan (PSP) Meetings
Autumn Term Begins: Wednesday, August 24, 2016 – First full day for all students
          Labor Day, School Closed: Monday, September 5, 2016
          *PSP Review Meeting: Monday, October 10, 2016
Autumn Half Term Break: Monday, October 17 – Friday, October 21, 2016
Autumn Second Half Term Begins: Monday, October 24, 2016
          Thanksgiving Holiday: Wednesday, November 23 – Friday, November 25, 2016
          *Staff Training Day, School Closed: Monday, November 28, 2016
End of Autumn Term: Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Winter Break: Wednesday, December 21, 2016 – Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Spring Term
Spring Term Begins: Thursday, January 5, 2017
          MLK Jr. Holiday, School Closed: Monday, January 16, 2017
          **(UPDATE)** Presidential Inauguration, School Closed: Friday, January 20, 2017
          *PSP Review Meeting: Thursday, February 16, 2017
          *Staff Training Day, School Closed: Friday, February 17, 2017
Spring Half Term Break: Monday, February 20 – Friday, February 24, 2017
Spring Second Half Term Begins: Monday, February 27, 2017
End of Spring Term: Friday, March 31, 2017

Spring Break: Monday, April 3 – Friday, April 14, 2017

Summer Term
**(UPDATE)** Summer Term Begins: Monday, April 17, 2017
Summer Half Term Break: Monday, May 29 – Friday, June 2, 2017
Summer Second Half Term Begins: Monday, June 5, 2017
          *PSP Review Meeting: Monday, June 26, 2017
End of Summer Term: Friday, June 30, 2017

** Please note, dates marked ***(UPDATE)** represent changes from the originally published list.

Downloads

Share this page:

Share