Sorry but this form will not work without cookies enabled. Please adjust your browser settings to enable cookies to continue. For more information on how to do this please see our.

Emergency Notice
  • 你知道吗?

    我们为1-18岁 超过1100名学生提供国际教育。作为社区的中心,我们已经成为在京外国家庭的交流中心。

    300x300 International day

  • 你知道吗?


    300x300 student teacher

  • 你知道吗?


    Chinese student 300x300

  • 你知道吗?


    300x300 sport

  • 你知道吗?


    300x300 parents

  • 你知道吗?


    300x300 Steam trip

  • 你知道吗?


    Student reading buddy 300x300

Inkie van Niekerk

Inkie Van Niekerk

Supply Teacher

After completing my schooling, I registered at the University of Pretoria (RSA), where I read for a Bachelor of Arts degree majoring in Psychology and Political Sciences. I then proceeded to post graduate studies at the University of Pretoria (RSA) focusing on International Relations and Political Sciences. After completing my university degrees, I started working for the Council of Europe as the Liaison Officer for the Venice Commission, where my main focus was on educational study and exchange programmes.

After my marriage and the birth of my son, I completed studies in fitness courses which enabled me to run classes for adults. This gave me flexibility to look after my family while pursuing part-time work. When my husband was transferred to East London, I was employed at the Carel du Toit Centre in a post encompassing fundraising and teaching young deaf children to speak using the auditory verbal method. I became inspired to work with children and grew to realize that this is where my future lay. I loved both the children and the teaching.

I then completed two specialist language courses in English and Afrikaans through UNISA South Africa.  When we moved to China I also completed my TEFL Certification through an American University in Colorado, with a focus on educating young EAL learners.  I then attained my PGCE (Post-Graduate Certificate in Education) though the University of South Africa, which qualified me to teach the Intermediate and Senior Phase. During my four years of residing in China I have done some supply teaching at a couple of international schools, before I was lucky enough to join BSB’s wonderful team.

Our family - my husband, son and I love outdoor life, especially cycling, running and swimming. We enjoy traveling and being exposed to new customs and cultures. In my leisure time I read a great deal which both broadens my knowledge and inspires me. I find I can be happy anywhere as long as I am with my loved ones. I have a very positive personality and this stands me in good stead in all situations.