News, Blog, Podcasts - Page 18 - News Search

Content Page Header Level 4 Default
 
More filters Reset
Featured
Author
Reset
News image Breast Cancer Awareness Month - breast-cancer-awareness-month Blog | category11 | Posts From Our People
Breast Cancer Awareness Month
October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month at BIS and the PTA and student community have organised important initiatives to raise awareness and funds.
read more
News image FS2 Phonics Workshop - fs2-phonics-workshop Blog | category11 | Posts From Our People
FS2 Phonics Workshop
We would like to invite FS2 parents to our workshop on Monday 5th October at 8am. The aim of the workshop will be to give parents a better understanding of how we teach Phonics and how you may help support your child at home.
read more
News image Exciting Times - exciting-times Blog | category11 | Posts From Our People
Exciting Times
Mr Patrick Horne writes his first blog post of the academic year, as well as recognising some successes from the year just finished.
read more
News image Is your child interested in learning an instrument? - is-your-child-interested-in-learning-an-instrument Blog | category11 | Posts From Our People
Is your child interested in learning an instrument?
Enrollment for instrumental music lessons at BIS Abu Dhabi is now open. Instrumental lessons will take the same format as last year, where pupils will leave their classrooms for 30 minutes to be taught by a specialist music teacher from the Juli Music Institute.
read more
News image Uniform Guidance - uniform-guidance Blog | category11 | Posts From Our People
Uniform Guidance
Every new school year is an exciting time for teachers and students and in preparation it is important that we remind ourselves of the high standards of appearance we expect from our students.
read more
News image Year 6 BISCARs - year-6-biscars Blog | category11 | Featured | Posts From Our People
Year 6 BISCARs
The Year 6 BISCARS 2015 took place on the 14th of June. The BISCARS is a graduation ceremony presented for Year 6 in preparation of moving up into Secondary School. During the ceremony students were presented with awards such as PSHE awards, The Arts award, The Music awards, PE awards and more.
read more
News image The Costume Shop - the-costume-shop Blog | category11 | Featured | Posts From Our People
The Costume Shop
The Second Hand Uniform sales committee is pleased to introduce a new portfolio, The Costume Shop, which will sell second hand costumes.
read more
News image Year 1 Kings & Queens Day - year-1-kings-and-queens-day Blog | Featured | Posts From Our People
Year 1 Kings & Queens Day
Today Year 1 enjoyed a day filled with royal activities and a banquet like no other, as a starting point for a new topic 'Kings and Queens.'
read more
News image News Default Image Blog | Posts From Our People | School News
Safeguarding Our Children
Following on from my weblog posting on 27th October, we are constantly reviewing our health and safety procedures in line with good practice. Additionally we take the safeguarding of our children at all times as our highest priority. Earlier in the week we carried out a routine fire drill with our students to make them well aware of the need to evacuate the building when the alarm goes off.
read more
News image Mrs Wallace visits Tanzania - mrs-wallace-visits-tanzania Blog | Featured | Posts From Our People
Mrs Wallace visits Tanzania
Following in the footsteps of our 7 global ambassadors who took part in Nord Anglia Education’s expedition alongside students from 18 of our school worldwide last year, Mrs Wallace headed to Nord Anglia's Shamba Kipara expedition camp for the annual senior leadership conference.
read more
News image U15 BSME Games 2014 – hosted by us! - u15-bsme-games-2014-hosted-by-us Blog | Featured | Posts From Our People
U15 BSME Games 2014 – hosted by us!
We are very pleased to announce that The British International School Abu Dhabi will be hosting the prestigious U15 BSME Games 2014 (British Schools in the Middle East).
read more
News image IB student publishes a book! - ib-student-publishes-a-book Blog | Featured | Posts From Our People
IB student publishes a book!
So what did you do over the summer? Go on holiday? Work on your tan? Catch up with old friends? All legitimate leisure time pursuits, but one BISAD student makes all that seem woefully inadequate. Her answer to the above question: “I published a book.” Amidst the hustle and bustle of the first day back, IB student Sehar Raza (aged 16) was quietly clutching an interesting looking novel which she had impressively written over the last eighteen months and published over the summer holidays!
read more
News image Ancillary Staff Assemblies - ancillary-staff-assemblies Blog | Posts From Our People
Ancillary Staff Assemblies
Assemblies took place during the last week of school, with children having the opportunity to thank our ancillary staff for their hard work throughout the year and present them with gifts of a 100 AED gift voucher and 80 AED in cash.
read more
News image Year 1 Spelling Bee - year-1-spelling-bee Blog | Posts From Our People
Year 1 Spelling Bee
The annual Year 1 spelling bee took place today. 4 children from each of the Year 1 classes took part, each representing their house. All participants from Ash, Willow, Oak and Elm worked hard to spell words which they have learnt throughout their time in Year 1.
read more
News image My First Gym’ in Foundation Stage - my-first-gym-in-foundation-stage Blog | Posts From Our People
My First Gym’ in Foundation Stage
Last week has seen the last of the Foundation Stage trip to ‘My First Gym’. It has been a great learning experience not only with the children’s physical development but also for their understanding of what it means to keep healthy and that a balanced diet, exercise, personal hygiene and sleep contributes to this.
read more
News image Year 6 to 7 Transition Days - year-6-to-7-transition-days Blog | Posts From Our People | School News
Year 6 to 7 Transition Days
On the first day the children were able to taste what secondary life would be like and conducted themselves in a mature way with nothing but praise from all the teachers they met. The English department arranged a very interesting and tasty lesson and during their Science lessons children were able to create and hold fireballs!
read more
News image Year 10 Work Experience Week - year-10-work-experience-week Blog | Posts From Our People | School News
Year 10 Work Experience Week
Almost 60 students in Year 10 began their work experience program. For an entire week, students have an opportunity to experience life in the world of work, develop the skills that they have been learning in school and begin their first steps towards a future career. A large number of companies and institutions in the area have worked hard to arrange programs and activities for students so that they get a true feel for what it’s like to work there.
read more
News image Introducing the Eco Warriors! - introducing-the-eco-warriors Blog | Posts From Our People
Introducing the Eco Warriors!
We are the Eco Warriors and we are trying to make not just the school but you more eco friendly. Eight people make up this group. We are James, Doug, Imaam, Zayed, Abdulrahman, Ruby, Yvette and Elias.
read more
News image Primary School Summer Reading Competition - primary-school-summer-reading-competition Blog | Posts From Our People
Primary School Summer Reading Competition
Introducing our inaugural Primary School ‘Reading in an Unusual Place’ competition this summer – to enter, students need to have a photograph taken of themselves reading in the most unusual (safe!) place you can think of during the summer break.
read more
News image Year 12 Angel Appeal at Mina Zayed Port - year-12-angel-appeal-at-mina-zayed-port Blog | Posts From Our People
Year 12 Angel Appeal at Mina Zayed Port
Seven of our Yr 12 CAS students were involved in the Angel Appeal event last Thursday at the Mina Zayed Port. They worked with the Angel Appeal and New York University Abu Dhabi to help seafarers in the UAE for whom loneliness, abandonment and anxiety are everyday realities. The students handed out care packages containing a T-shirt, shoes, phone cards, and toiletry items to over 200 seafarers. It was a rewarding event in which I felt immensely proud of our students as they thanked the seafarers for what they do for Abu Dhabi.
read more