Nord Anglia Education
Nord Anglia
23 May, 2017

Key Stages

To help your child become an able, confident, and inspired learner, our curriculum for ages 5 to 11 approaches learning with a clear progression in skill development.

About the Curriculum

The International Primary Curriculum (IPC) and the UK National Curriculum provide the framework for educating students in Year 1 to 6 (age 5 to 11). The IPC is a cross-curricular teaching program integrating History, Geography, Science, Art, Information Communication Technology, and Design Technology into thematic units. It provides links to the National Curriculum guidelines for English, Mathematics, Music, and Physical Education.

Children spend three to six weeks on units of work that are based on interdisciplinary themes of real interest to children, so they are engaged and enthusiastic; examples of themes include "Circus" and "Active Planet."

Internationalism is embedded into every topic-based unit to ensure our children grow up with a very clear global understanding. Focusing on three standards – academic, personal development, and international mindedness – our curriculum provides a creative system that prepares children, wherever they may live in the future, for the world of tomorrow.

Curriculum Topics

In the primary school, your child will consider topics from multiple perspectives and make meaningful connections between what he or she learns. The core curriculum from ages 5 to 11 (Year 1 to 6) includes:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Design Technology
  • ICT (Information and Communication Technology)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • PACE (Personal and Citizenship Education)
  • American Studies, ages 7 to 11 (Year 3 to 6)
  • Modern Foreign Language (French and Spanish)