Sorry but this form will not work without cookies enabled. Please adjust your browser settings to enable cookies to continue. For more information on how to do this please see our.

  • Authentically International

    "International" is more than a label here. It is at the very core of everything we do and how we do it.

    Students coming to school in the morning

  • Transferable Curriculum

    A curriculum handpicked for its international focus and global recognition, culminating in the IB Program.

    Students at the British International School of Washington

  • Inspiring Each Other

    Our students will embrace your child with open arms. Our students inspire each other to succeed.

    IPC Curriculum- Walk in the woods

  • Dedicated and Inspiring

    Our teachers are recruited for their ability to nurture lifelong learners and inspire excellence.

    Teacher and student at the British International School Washington

  • Your New Community

    We welcome you to our inclusive community. From day one you and your child will feel at home with us.

    excited students at the British International School of Washington

  • Every Day is Different

    Your child will experience something new every day. Find out what's happening and connect with each other.

    Build a plane launch

  • Ask Anything

    Speaking directly with us is the best way to get your questions answered quickly. We look forward to hearing from you.

    A girl raises hand  for questions

Term Dates

Our families love the structure of our school calendar, unique in Washington. Our three, long terms – each with a mid-term break – provide more opportunities for off-peak travel, and our shorter summer breaks help students get back to the classroom sooner.

  • Teacher chatting with a student

Academic Calendar 2018-2019

Autumn Term (August – December)
Orientation and Personal Success Plan (PSP) Meetings: Tuesday, August 21, 2018
First Day of Classes: Wednesday, August 23, 2018 (PSP Meetings on August 21)
Labor Day, School Closed: Monday, September 3, 2018
Autumn Half Term Break, School Closed: Monday, October 8 – Friday, October 12, 2018
Thanksgiving Break, School Closed: Wednesday, November 21 – Friday, November 23, 2018

Learning Review Day: Thursday, November 1, 2019 (no normal classes)

Winter Break, School Closed: Monday, December 24, 2018 – Monday, January 7, 2019

Winter Term (January – April)
Spring Term Begins: Tuesday, January 8, 2019
MLK Jr. Holiday, School Closed: Monday, January 21, 2019         
Spring Half Term Break, School Closed Monday, February 18 – Friday, February 22, 2019

Learning Review Day: Wednesday, February 27, 2019 (no normal classes)
Spring Break, School Closed: Monday, April 8 – Friday, April 19, 2019

Spring Term (May – June)
Summer Term Begins: Monday, April 22, 2019
Summer Half Term Break, School Closed: Monday, May 27 – Friday, May 31, 2019
Last Day of School: Friday, June 28, 2019
Summer Vacation, School Closed Starting Monday, July 1, 2019

Downloads