Ages 2–5

We believe your child’s first few years of schooling should be fun, helping education to come alive through play and inspiring a lifelong love of learning. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum gives them a broad and balanced learning experience, preparing them for their future education by fostering the skills, interests, and confidence they need to grow into successful learners.

Our little ones engage in three prime areas and four specific areas of learning and development, designed to stimulate their curiosity and enthusiasm, and nurture their capacity to thrive and build relationships:

Prime areas:

  1. Communication and language
  2. Physical development
  3. Personal, social, and emotional development

Specific areas:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the world
  4. Expressive arts and design

These seven areas are implemented according to the four guiding principles of the EYFS:

  1. Every child is unique
  2. Every child can learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  3. Children learn and develop best in enabling environments
  4. Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates

LCIS follows the EYFS framework to ensure every Early Years student enjoys an enriching first experience of learning and education. 


At La Côte International School Aubonne, we offer a truly international education in a supportive and nurturing environment.

More about academic excellence