Years 10-11


The IGCSE is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds. It is recognised by leading universities and employers worldwide. Borne out of the GCSE used in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, the IGCSE is adapted to suit a more internationally focused student body and is taught in over 140 countries and almost 3,700 schools worldwide. The IGCSE helps improve performance by developing skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem-solving, and is therefore an ideal preparation for the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme (DP).
IGCSE Curriculum School Switzerland | La Côte International School, Aubonne-Content Page Header-La Cote'18_071

La Côte International School Aubonne - an IGCSE curriculum school in Switzerland

The IGCSE curriculum is widely recognised as evidence of academic ability and gives flexibility to the students’ learning and choice of subjects. It offers students a broad, general education, challenging and rich in knowledge but based on a varied classroom approach. This gives students with a range of learning preferences the opportunity to succeed.


IGCSE learner knowledge

The IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in: - Subject content - Applying knowledge and understanding to new and unfamiliar situations - Intellectual enquiry - Flexibility and responsiveness to change - Working and communicating in English - Influencing outcome - Cultural awareness


IGCSE examination boards 

At LCIS, we use two exam boards that offer a version of the IGCSE qualification:


Cambridge IGCSE

First taught in 1986 (in line with the introduction of GCSEs in the UK) the Cambridge IGCSE is developed by Cambridge Assessment International Education. Part of the University of Cambridge, the Cambridge IGCSE offers over 70 subjects. Aside from core subjects such as Mathematics, Sciences and English, there are a variety of other subjects touching the humanities, business, and 30 languages.


EDEXCEL International GCSE

Created by the University of London, Edexcel was formed as an educational body in 1996. An Edexcel IGCSE certification can be attained across 37 subjects. Their exams are also set across schools in the UK, closely aligning their IGCSE programme with students studying in the UK.


The IGCSE Curriculum 

Students may choose to pursue an IGCSE qualification in a wide variety of subjects, with no limits on the number of qualifications they may sit. Normally, a student will study each subject over a two-year period before undertaking examinations and assessments when their proficiency around what they have learned is graded. However, there is no time limit on how long a student needs to study before taking exams.

The way students are graded varies depending on the exam board. Many students are now graded on a 9-1 system, with Level 9 the highest-level achievement, down to the lowest level, Level 1.

At LCIS, we teach the IGCSE alongside a key IB element as part of our unique blended curriculum: Theory of Knowledge (ToK), preparing students for this key area of the core at Diploma level.

There are a number of compulsory subjects, which are studied by all students. Other subjects are optional and each student is able to select the combination that they wish to study.


IGCSE Curriculum subjects

Compulsory core

Compulsory Core subjects include:


In addition, students can choose 3 options from the following subjects:

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) | La Côte International School - Aubonne, Switzerland-09 - Promo With Collage-Composition_LCIS_People_AcademicExcellence_PNG_650x650


We accept applications throughout the school year and encourage you to get in touch with us to start your admissions journey.

Enquire today for more information and to schedule a visit to our campus.

Enquire now