Sorry but this form will not work without cookies enabled. Please adjust your browser settings to enable cookies to continue. For more information on how to do this please see our.

  • DID YOU KNOW?

    We are a high achieving school where everyone can feel at home.

    sustainable

  • DID YOU KNOW?

    Our teachers maintain the highest standards of a British education.

    staff microscope

  • DID YOU KNOW?

    We are the heart of our community and a hub for many expatriate families living in Bangkok.

    international day

  • DID YOU KNOW?

    We provide an international education where every child will achieve highly.

    achieving student

  • GET IN TOUCH

    We welcome your application. Please contact us to discuss vacancies at our school.

    student celebrating

  • CONNECT WITH US

    Whether you're looking for answers or would like to solve a problem, you'll find many ways to contact us right here

    student boys talking

Library: 08 May 2017

08 May 2017

We’re already getting prepared for some great summer reading… Again we have some great book recommendations for you.

  • 55157329
  • 51624306
  • 21593349
  • 10394419

Summer Reading

The last term of the academic year is always one of our busiest. As we have started to receive new High School textbooks, library books and prepare for the new HS site, we have also been thinking about encouraging reading over the summer holiday!

We will run two amazing competitions for all ages: Read it Forward and Summer Reading Challenge! More information will follow shortly in a couple of weeks time!

Lib5

Books of the Week

Early Years: The Feelings Book
By: Todd Parr

Lib1

Sometimes I feel silly.
Sometimes I feel like eating pizza for breakfast.
Sometimes I feel brave.
Sometimes I feel like trying something new...

The Feelings Book vibrantly illustrates the wide range of moods we all experience. Kids and adults will appreciate Todd Parr's quirky intelligence as he pays special attention to the ever-changing, sometimes nonsensical emotions that we all feel. Targeted to young children first beginning to read, this book will inspire kids to discuss their multitude of feelings in a kid-friendly, accessible format, told through Parr's trademark bold, bright colors and silly scenes.
Along with the four other bestselling Todd Parr picture books, The Feelings Book is designed to encourage early literacy, enhance emotional development, celebrate multiculturalism, and promote character growth.

Primary Fiction (8+): Jefferson's Sons: A Founding Father's Secret Children
By: Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Lib2

This story of Thomas Jefferson's children by one of his slaves, Sally Hemings, tells a darker piece of America's history from an often unseen perspective-that of three of Jefferson's slaves-including two of his own children. As each child grows up and tells his story, the contradiction between slavery and freedom becomes starker, calling into question the real meaning of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness." This poignant story sheds light on what life was like as one of Jefferson's invisible offspring.

Primary Non-Fiction (9+): Understanding Myself: A Kid's Guide to Intense Emotions and Strong Feelings
By: Mary Lamia

Lib3

Chock-full of cool psychology and info on emotions, real-life stories from kids, interesting facts, and feeling quizzes, Understanding Myself will help you notice just what all your emotions and feelings are telling you about yourself, your friends, and your family.

High School Fiction (13+): Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark 1)
By: Veronica Roth

Lib4

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.
On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favoured by fate, everyone develops a current gift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their current gifts, Akos and Cyra do not – their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world? Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s current gift gives her pain and power – something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows. Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual current gift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive – no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive – or to destroy one.


Book cover and review source: Amazon.com

Categories