Page 5 - News Search

News Search-Content Page Header - US schools-Image
 
More filters Reset
Featured
Author
Reset
News image Students Place in State TPSMEA Solo and Ensemble Competition-students-place-in-state-tpsmea-solo-and-ensemble-competition-Image Mandatory Blog | finearts | featured | Fine Arts | High School | Middle School
Students Place in State TPSMEA Solo and Ensemble Competition
Six Village School middle and high school students placed in the Texas Private School Music Educators Association​ ​Instrumental State Solo & Ensemble Competition at the ​Bishop Dunne Catholic School in Dallas May 26.
read more
News image Village Team Wins Thomas Edison Pitch Challenge-village-team-wins-thomas-edison-pitch-challenge-Image Mandatory Blog | middleschool | featured | Homepage Featured Article | Middle School | Village In The Press
Village Team Wins Thomas Edison Pitch Challenge
The Village School BioQuattuor team won first place in the national Thomas Edison Pitch Contest against more than 50 middle school teams. They presented their sweat-powered insulin nanobot prototype to the panel of judges May 17 via a video conference and have been awarded a 3D printer for the school as well as individual gift cards.
read more
News image Thirds Annual VESPYS Awards-thirds-annual-vespys-awards-Image Mandatory Blog | athletics | High School | Middle School
Thirds Annual VESPYS Awards
The VESPYS athletic banquet has become a unique tradition at The Village School. This event is hosted by our athletic department each May and it is a fun way to celebrate all of the team and individual accomplishments and recognitions that we achieved this year.
read more
News image Middle School Speech and Debate Places 4th Overall-middle-school-speech-and-debate-places-4th-overall-Image Mandatory Blog | middleschool | featured | Homepage Featured Article | Middle School
Middle School Speech and Debate Places 4th Overall
The middle school Speech and Debate Team competed at the St. Thomas HS Speech and Debate Tournament on Saturday, April 28th. The Village School had 20 finalists and 32 semi-finalists. Competing in the large school division, the Village School placed 4th overall.
read more
News image Village Places Second in State Academic Meet-village-places-second-in-state-academic-meet-Image Mandatory Blog | featured | Elementary | Homepage Featured Article | Middle School
Village Places Second in State Academic Meet
The Village School middle school team placed second overall 2018 PSIA state meet April 29. Village is now ranked in the top ten of “AA” Champion Schools this year. It is thanks to the individual placements of students that the team was able to rank highly.
read more
News image Student selected for U17 USA Basketball Team Trials-student-selected-for-u17-usa-basketball-team-trials-Image Mandatory Blog | athletics | featured | High School | Homepage Featured Article
Student selected for U17 USA Basketball Team Trials
Freshman, Jada M. was selected to attend the U17 USA Basketball Team Trials and will compete against 115 players nationwide for a spot on the U17 USA Basketball National Tea
read more
News image Village Students Compete at State Academic Meet-village-students-compete-at-state-academic-meet-Image Mandatory Blog | featured | Elementary | Middle School
Village Students Compete at State Academic Meet
The Middle School TMSCA State Team won 6th Place Sweepstakes in the 6A Division for Texas. As well as seventh place overall in Number sense, fifth place overall in Calculator team, eleventh place overall in General Math, and seventh place overall in General Science.
read more
News image Sweeping Success at TPSMEA Solo and Ensemble Contest-sweeping-success-at-tpsmea-solo-and-ensemble-contest-Image Mandatory Blog | finearts | Elementary | featured | Fine Arts | High School | Homepage Featured Article | Middle School
Sweeping Success at TPSMEA Solo and Ensemble Contest
Over 100 students from private schools from the South Texas Region met on April 14th at St. Thomas Catholic High School. Village had 36 students in 38 solo and 1 ensemble string and piano entries. 28 Village students received high honors. Seven solo student entries performed a level one piece (the highest classification of the UIL Prescribed Music List) and received a superior rating, making them eligible to advance to the State Round of the contest.
read more
News image Class creates memorial to Kristallnacht victims-class-creates-memorial-to-kristallnacht-victims-Image Mandatory Blog | middleschool | featured | Homepage Featured Article | Middle School
Class creates memorial to Kristallnacht victims
Eighth grade language arts students honored victims of the Holocaust in a STEAM project unlike any other. Students selected items that reflected the memories and lives of those lost and began a crystallization process to preserve and transform them using Borax and water. Students then worked to curate the exhibit and write memoirs from the point of the view of their selected items.
read more
News image Vikings Spirit Dance Team brings home first place-vikings-spirit-dance-team-brings-home-first-place-Image Mandatory Blog | athletics | featured | High School
Vikings Spirit Dance Team brings home first place
The Vikings Spirit Dance Team participated in their first competition at the Houston regional groove competition March 23- 25 against 500 other routines. Viking Spirit Dancers competed in the senior large group novice level, and received a High Gold, 1st place award in the large group senior "pom" division, and a 1st place overall in the senior large group division.
read more
News image Coach Doug Brotherton Named PCA's Double-Goal Coach Winner-coach-doug-brotherton-named-pcas-double-goal-coach-winner-Image Mandatory Blog | athletics | featured
Coach Doug Brotherton Named PCA's Double-Goal Coach Winner
Please join us in congratulating coach Doug Brotherton on his selection as a PCA Double-Goal Coach Winner for his outstanding commitment to developing athletes. PCA's Double-Goal Coach Award is given to youth and high school sports coaches from throughout the U.S. who embody the ideals of the Double-Goal Coach, striving to win, while also pursuing the more important goal of teaching life lessons through sports.
read more
News image Village Athlete Named VYPE Private School Hooper of the Year 2018-village-athlete-named-vype-private-school-hooper-of-the-year-2018-Image Mandatory Blog | athletics | High School | Village In The Press
Village Athlete Named VYPE Private School Hooper of the Year 2018
Village Basketball player Nestor D. was named VYPE Private School Boys Hooper of the Year for his impressive performance in his senior season. Nestor was elected by popular poll and chosen over numerous other contenders.
read more
News image PSIA District Awards-psia-district-awards-Image Mandatory Blog | featured | Elementary | Homepage Featured Article | Middle School
PSIA District Awards
The Village School was well represented at the District PSIA meet March 3, 2018 with a total of 58 individual awards. Our Village team of combined elementary and middle school students came in 2nd place with a total of 30 State Qualifiers. Our elementary students (which includes 5th grade) came in 1st for the team.
read more
News image MUN Receives Highest Distinction Award-mun-receives-highest-distinction-award-Image Mandatory Blog | highschool | High School | Homepage Featured Article
MUN Receives Highest Distinction Award
The Village High School received the Highest Distinction Award at the National High School MUN Conference held March 2nd - 5th in NYC.
read more
News image MS One Act Play places second at PSIA Competition-ms-one-act-play-places-second-at-psia-competition-Image Mandatory Blog | finearts | featured | Fine Arts | Homepage Featured Article | Middle School
MS One Act Play places second at PSIA Competition
The middle school One Act Play team competed at the PSIA One Act Play competition at Foster High School February 23 with their performance of The Curious Savage. The performance placed second in the competition and multiple cast members won individual awards.
read more
News image Pumps & Pipes Summer STEAM Academy-pumps-and-pipes-summer-steam-academy-Image Mandatory Blog | highschool | featured | High School | Homepage Featured Article
Pumps & Pipes Summer STEAM Academy
The Village School, in collaboration with ExxonMobil, Houston Methodist and NASA, recently finalized and outlined the details for the second Pumps and Pipes Summer STEAM Academy. The academy is a four-week summer academy level program designed for high school students (rising 9th through 12th graders) who are interested in pursuing further study in an interdisciplinary approach to science, technology, engineering, arts and math (STEAM). This is a selective program that requires that students have a working knowledge of at least Algebra 1 and a basic to advanced knowledge of physics, chemistry and biology.
read more
News image Model United Nations team finds success at local conference-model-united-nations-team-finds-success-at-local-conference-Image Mandatory Blog | highschool | High School
Model United Nations team finds success at local conference
The Village School Model United Nations team participated in the Houston MUN conference at the University of Houston January 25 and 26. In attendance were 45 schools and more than 1,200 students. The Village team did extremely well winning a total of 18 awards including Best Large Delegation.
read more