常见问题|广州英国国际学校-FAQ page block-GJK_1161_BSG_Campus_5050text_900x720_1

常见问题

  • 作为学生家长,我能参加 BSG 的校园社区活动吗?
    我们与学生家长社区联系紧密,并得到了他们强有力的支持。BSG 的学生家长成立的家长支持团体 (PSG) 为我们提供了全面的协助。PSG 热情的“迎新委员会”专为新生家庭和家长提供帮助。PSG 的家长成员还会出任学校的班级代表,参与多项活动的组织工作,包括国际日庆祝活动,以及社区合作协会(BSG 慈善与社会服务组织)开展的慈善行动等等。
  • BSG 是什么时间建校的?

    广州英国外籍人员子女学校建立于 2005 年,招收年龄在 1-18 岁之间的学生。BSG 始终走在中国国际教育的最前沿,学校拥有近 4,000 名学生,校友遍布世界各地。

    诺德安达教育集团旗下拥有 81 所国际学校,足迹遍及全球 32 个国家,覆盖北美、欧洲、中东、中国和东南亚的众多全球化都市,累计拥有超过 74,000 名在校学生。能够成为其中的一员,我们深感自豪。

  • BSG 通过认证批准了吗?

    是的,广州英国外籍人员子女学校由广东省教委和中国教育部正式批准。在海外获得办学批准的英国学校屈指可数,我们就是其中之一。

    BSG 是经过完全认证的国际学校委员会 (CIS) 成员,也是亚洲英国国际学校联合会 (FOBISIA) 和中蒙国际学校协会 (ACAMIS) 的成员学校。

    BSG 是经过剑桥国际考试委员会 (Cambridge International Examinations Testing Centre) 授权的 IGCSE 和 A-Level 考点。我们也是美国大学理事会 (College Board) 授权的 SAT 考点,可为有志于前往美国大学就读的学生提供考试平台。

  • 我的孩子放学后可以在 BSG 参加哪些活动?

    我们为 2-13 年级的学生开设了内容广泛的课外活动 (ASA) 项目,旨在进一步强化他们的学习和发展。通过参加各类俱乐部和活动,孩子们可以接受新的挑战,锻炼团队协作的能力,并树立更强大的自信和自尊心。我们的课外活动注重培养独立、坚持和专注的优秀品质。

    在 BSG,我们的课外活动丰富多彩,包括一系列体育类(涵盖个人和团队运动)和艺术类(音乐、合唱、绘画、戏剧和管弦乐)项目。如果我们的学生想在学业上更上一层楼,也可以参加科学俱乐部,或中文以及其他语言学习俱乐部。每个学期的活动项目都会有所调整,但始终都会为您的孩子提供丰富的选择,让他们不断开阔视野、增长知识技能。

    课外活动由老师负责组织进行,活动时间为每周二、周三和周四下午 3:00-4:00,每学期至少八周。对于参加课外活动的同学,校车服务时间将改为下午 4:00。

    此外,我们还开设了特训班课程,可供同学们接触新的学习主题、探索陌生领域,以及强化现有知识技能。BSG 特训班可自由选择是否参加,活动时间为每周二和周四下午 4:15-5:15,需额外支付相应费用。

  • BSG 提供交通服务吗?
    是的,BSG 提供完善的校车服务,力求让每一名学生都能以最短的时间完成往返学校的通勤之旅。我们安全快捷的校车服务可提供超过 50 条线路,覆盖广州的各大主要居民区,根据具体情况会进行灵活的规划和调整。所有校车线路都将安排老师和校车监督员负责监督,确保严格遵守健康安全规程。校园管理团队成员也会检查确保校车的安全运行。
  • BSG 选用的是什么课程?
    BSG 选用英国国家课程,与英国的顶级私立学校相一致。我们的课程内容广泛而均衡,能够充分兼顾学生在不同学科领域的知识能力发展。我们对课程内容进行了一定的调整,与我们高度国际化的生源特点相契合,也体现了我们扎根于中国的教育特色。
  • 哪些班级是用英语授课的?
    BSG 的课程教学全部使用英语。如果想要取得优秀的学业成绩,我们的学生必须具备相当程度的书面英语和口语能力。对英语水平的要求随着学生的年龄递增,一般对早教阶段的要求较低,进入中学阶段之后会提高要求。BSG 会为新生提供语言辅导,确保他们能顺利完成过渡。
  • BSG 提供哪些外语课程?

    在 BSG,早教和小学部的学生从最初就会开始学习中文,以便他们能对在中国生活时的所见所闻形成更清晰的认知,以及更全面地了解和融入当地的文化。

    在关键阶段 3(7年级至9年级),学生们将从中文、法语或西班牙语中选择一门语言,遵照英国国家课程内容进行相应的学习,实现听、说、读、写能力的全方位发展。在语言教学中,我们会尽可能地与相应国家和地区的文化特色相结合。进入 IGCSE 课程阶段可选择学习第二门语言。

  • 学校教师团队是否具备教学资质?
    广州英国外籍人员子女学校(BSG)志在将我们的学生培养成为能力出众且富有创造力的优秀人才,因此只吸纳履历出众、积极进取、经验丰富的教职人员。学校的大多数教师来自英国,同时我们也拥有来自其他国家的专门学科教师和高水平的中文教学团队。
  • BSG 的学历认证在世界范围内能否得到认可和肯定?
    是的,BSG 的学生获得的学历资格证书深受其他知名英国和国际学校以及全球高等院校的认可。
  • BSG 如何确保我的孩子快速融入学校?

    在 BSG,如果相应年级组尚有入学席位,我们就可在整个学年期间随时接纳新同学的到来。我们会为您的孩子安排一位“小伙伴”,帮助他们更快适应这里的校园生活。“小伙伴”会在午餐和休息时间陪伴您的孩子,发挥向导的作用,并为他们提供有关校园生活的建议和提醒。

    另外,我们的老师和其他教职人员也会随时做好准备,为他们提供所需的支持和帮助。

  • 学校是否具备教牧关怀体系?

    是的,BSG 具备完善的教牧关怀体系。

    在小学阶段,班主任老师将负责这项工作,组织大家进行座谈和交流讨论。班主任老师可随时为同学们提供帮助,并将密切关注他们社交能力的发展。

    在中学阶段,将由年级导师负责指导学生树立起良好的公民意识,并为他们提供个人、社会与人文教育 (PHSE) 课程教学。而且,我们的助理副校长也会密切监督对学生的教牧关怀工作进展。

    此外,我们的辅导员和咨询导师也会为学生的职业规划和大学申请提供指导。

  • BSG 如何培养学生的领导能力?

    我们设立的学院干事、学生会和操场活动组长等制度旨在为六岁以上的同学们提供锻炼领导能力的平台,培养他们对校园的责任感。

    另外在中学阶段,同学们可以参加学生会、爱丁堡公爵国际奖挑战和模拟联合国等多项活动,以及担当学生代表,进一步锻炼自己的领导能力。

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQs)

FAQs | The British School of Guangzhou-FAQ page block-Image_BSG_Guangzhou_2022

FAQs

  • As a parent, how can I get involved in the school community at BSG?
    Our parent community is supportive and connected. We have wonderfully supportive parents at BSG, who are active through the Parent Support Group (PSG). The PSG has a warm and vibrant ‘welcome committee’ for new families and parents. The parents of the PSG also serve as class representatives, helping to organise events such as celebrations of International Day and supporting charity events organised by Community Partnership, a charity and service group at BSG.
  • When was BSG founded?
    The British School of Guangzhou was established in 2005 for students aged 1 to 18. BSG has been at the forefront of international education in China and has been a hub for almost 4,000 students with alumni spread across the world. 

    We’re also part of Nord Anglia Education's global family of 81 international schools that educate more than 74,000 students across 32 countries, including major global cities in North America, Europe, the Middle East, China, and Southeast Asia.
  • Is BSG accredited?
    Yes, the British School of Guangzhou is a fully licensed international school, approved by The Guangdong Education Commission and The Chinese Ministry of Education.  

    BSG is a member of CIS (Council of International Schools) with full accreditation, and a member school of FOBISIA (Federation of British International School in Asia) and ACAMIS (Association of China and Mongolia International Schools).

    We’re an approved Cambridge International Examinations Testing Centre and Edexcel Testing Centre, which authorise BSG for IGCSE and A-Level examinations. We’re also an authorised College Board SAT Testing Centre for students wishing to take these tests to attend US universities.
  • What activities can my child take part in after school at BSG?
    We offer a wide-ranging programme of extracurricular activities known as After-School Activities (ASAs) for students from Year 2 to Year 13 to enhance their learning and development. Clubs and activities offer the chance for children to take on new challenges, work with different people, and develop their confidence and self-esteem. Our ASAs encourage independence, perseverance, and commitment.

    At BSG, we offer a broad mix of ASAs, including a range of sports (both individual and team) and the arts (such as music, choir, drawing, drama, and orchestra). If our students want greater academic challenges, they can develop their language skills, join a science club, or participate in Mandarin Club. The precise mix of activities varies each term, but there’s plenty to broaden children’s minds and develop their skills. 

    ASAs are teacher-led, free of charge, and run on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 pm to 4:00 pm over eight weeks each term. Bus services for children attending ASAs are moved to 4:00 pm. 

    Additionally, we offer Academy Programmes as great opportunities for students to try something new and discover talents in areas they didn’t know existed or to improve skills they already have. Our BSG Academy is optional to join, has an extra cost, and runs Tuesdays and Thursdays from 4:15 pm to 5:15 pm.
  • Does BSG offer transportation services?

    Yes, BSG has a comprehensive bus service and ensures children spend the least amount of time possible travelling to and from school. We run a safe and efficient bus service with over 50 routes covering the major residential compounds of Guangzhou, often created or adapted to provide maximum flexibility. All bus routes are monitored by teachers and supervised by a Bus Supervisor, who ensures rigourous Health and Saftey procedures. Senior staff additionally check to ensure safe operations.

  • What curriculum does BSG follow?
    BSG follows the English National Curriculum, as delivered by top UK independent schools. We offer a broad and balanced curriculum that soundly develops students’ skills and knowledge across different subject areas. We have adapted our curriculum to cater to the international nature of our students and our location within China.
  • Which classes are taught in English?
    BSG delivers its curriculum in English. For students to be academically successful, they must have a sufficiently high level of both written and spoken English. The demands on the level of English increases with the age of the child; typically being less demanding during Early Years and more demanding as children move into Secondary School. BSG also provides languge support to ensure a smooth transition for our new students.
  • What foreign languages do you teach at BSG?
    At BSG, all Early Years and Primary students learn Mandarin from day one. This allows them to better relate to the life they see around them every day in China and to make the most of opportunities to interact with their host culture. 

    At Key Stage 3 (Year 7 to Year 9), students choose one language from Chinese, French, or Spanish and follow a course based on the English National Curriculum, which develops the four skills of listening, speaking, reading, and writing. Whenever possible, we take every opportunity to discuss the cultures of the countries where the languages are spoken. Studying a second language becomes optional from the IGCSE years.
  • Do you have qualified teaching staff?
    The British School of Guangzhou (BSG) hires only highly qualified, motivated, and experienced staff who develop young minds and help ensure our students become skilled and creative thinkers. The majority of our teachers are from the UK, with a few specialists from other countries, as well as a strong Chinese team teaching Mandarin.
  • Are the qualifications obtained at BSG recognised and valued worldwide?
    Yes, students attending BSG will have their qualifications accepted by other reputable British and international schools as well as universities worldwide.
  • How will BSG ensure my child settles in quickly at school?
    At BSG, we welcome students to join us throughout the academic year as long as there are places available in the year group. Your child will be assigned a ‘buddy’ to assist with their intergration into school life. The ‘buddy’ will accompany and guide your child throughout procedures for lunch and break times and give other helpful tips about school life. 

    What’s more, teachers and other staff are easily accessible, give ongoing support, and are always available to help.
  • Do you have a pastoral care system?
    Yes, we have a superb pastoral care system at BSG. 

    In Primary School, the class teacher assumes this role, leading assemblies and circle-time lessons. The class teacher is on hand for all students and monitors the group’s social development. 

    In Secondary School, each student has a form tutor, who is also responsible for delivering the citizenship and PHSE programme. Also, we have an Assistant Head of Secondary who oversees the pastoral care of students. 

    Additionally, our counsellors and advisors provide support to our students on their future careers and university entrances.
  • How do you encourage the development of future leaders at BSG?
    Our leadership programmes in Primary School include House Captains, the Student Council, and Playground Leaders, among others, which are roles that give students as young as six years old a voice and a sense of responsibility for their school. 

    Additionally, in Secondary School, the Student Guild, International Award, Model United Nations, and Head Student are some opportunities for our older students to develop as leaders.